Arduino success


So, I picked up a project on the Arduino “Gigs and Collaborations” board. What the guy wanted seemed pretty straightforward, a half-an-hour job. I said I’d do it for fifty bucks.

You poor fool.

Over the week, our correspondence became increasingly heated.

To be fair, much of it was my fault. I simply hadn’t read a lot of what he wrote, but (again, too be fair) it was written in somewhat original syntax and was really a lot of work to decode. I was fooled by his address and his european-looking nom de internet. I have no doubt that this gentleman spent his formative years on the subcontinent or in regions further east.

Anyway. On the 5th, I sent a message with an attached sketch (arduino projects are called ‘sketches’), the message describing what the attached code does now. His reply to me contained – among other things – this beauty:

CAMERA NOTE: WHETHER THE CAMERA IS POWERED ALL THE TIME, OR JUST FOR 12 THE SECONDS I ASK TO HAPPEN WITH THE CALL TO “ACTION”. WHEN YOU HIT THE REC BUTTON IT RECORDS FOR 12 SECONDS AND STOPS IT CAN ONLY RECORD A 12 SECOND CLIP. IN OTHER WORDS,, YOU HAVE TO PUSH (TRIGGER) THE RECORD BUTTON AGAIN TO MAKE IT RECORD AGAIN. I USE THE 12 SECOND POWER VIDEO (THE “ACTION”) TO SAVE POWER. SO THE CAMERA DOESN’T RUN ALL NIGHT LONG. JUST WHEN IT IS CALLED. I DON’T SEE A NEED FOR “WAIT FOR MOTION SENSOR TO GO LOW?? BECAUSE IT “WILL”, MIGHT TAKE A MINUTE OR 2 OR 3, AND THAT DOESN’T MATTER. BUT IT WILL GO LOW.AFTER IS DOES, SIMPLY…PLAY ACTION!

Which frankly, I have only read in full just now. Now that I have completed the project, with hindsight I can see what the bloke is saying. (He’s wrong, by the way. Without a wait, the logic would trigger the start-up sequence over and over).

So what did I do? I’ll tell you what I did, man. I wrote a long screed with some word in CAPS saying “you said this, then; and you are saying this now”. Then I deleted it without sending it. With age, comes wisdom. Instead, I sent him this:

Ok, well the sketch I sent you last time should do what you want, then.

Have you tried it out?

Well, the situation is that he can only really try it out on the weekend. Dude has a job.

Today, I got this:

good morning Paul, it appears to work exactly as anticipated. I am very pleased, played with it all day yesterday. money will be in your account by the end of the day.

please keep my contact info. if you need a reference give them my email, I will speak highly of you. as with most of my prototypes, they seldom work perfectly the first time out, or, I discover “OH!” I want it to do this too!

so there may be some tweeking of this one needed down the road. if not this one, I have other projects for you to work on after this one is finished.

great job!

Fucking “Booyah!” and fist-pump.

Dude may be just a tiny bit optimistic about the possibility that I might accept further work from him. But this was definitely a success.

Also learned quite a bit about accepting work over the internet and corresponding with clients.

Leave a Reply

